The Magpie Salute to play Jannus Live

The Magpie Salute to play Jannus Live

The Magpie Salute – the new 10-piece band that brings together Rich Robinson, Marc Ford and Sven Pipien of The Black Crowes with other dynamic musicians and co-ed singers from around the world – will perform Thursday, Oct. 26, at Jannus Live, 200 First Ave. N., St. Petersburg.

Gates will open at 7 p.m. Tickets are $23.50. Visit or

The Magpie Salute is currently in the midst of a year-long national headlining tour in support of the band’s self-titled debut album.

Prior to its official release, The Magpie Salute partnered with The Independent (U.K.), Rolling Stone (Germany) and Oui FM (France) to premiere the music video for “Omission,” the lead single off the new album, released worldwide June 9 via Eagle Rock Entertainment.

“The overall idea was based on the light and dark aspects of the human psyche and taking a reference from the Magpie which has elements of the light and dark,” Robinson said in a press release.

Driven by the magic of the reunited Robinson and Ford guitar team as celebrated with Guitar Player magazine’s June 2017 issue cover story, The Magpie Salute is impacting radio with “Omission,” the deeply soulful rock song written by Robinson and lead vocalist John Hogg.

Produced by Crowes guitarist and co-founder Robinson, the musically tight and expansive debut album was recorded live in the studio in front of an audience at Applehead Recording in Woodstock, New York, except for the full studio track “Omission.” The 10-song album carries special significance as it marks the last recorded work by Eddie Harsch, the late Black Crowes keyboardist whose signature sound and gentle soul are woven into “The Magpie Salute.”

There is wide open musical freedom on the band’s debut album, with half of the songs coming in over seven minutes in length, and the musicians’ wide-ranging roots are reflected in the diverse selections. They offer fresh takes of The Black Crowes’ “What Is Home” and “Wiser Time,” and interpret songs by Delaney and Bonnie (“Comin’ Home”), Bobby Hutcherson (“Goin’ Down South”), War (“War Drums”), Pink Floyd (“Fearless”), the Faces (“Glad and Sorry”), and Bob Marley (“Time Will Tell,” which The Black Crowes covered on their second album) and the traditional “Ain’t No More Cane.”

The Magpie Salute features musicians who’ve played together for decades throughout various projects and share a truly deep musical bond. Joining Robinson, Ford and Pipien in the band are drummer Joe Magistro and guitarist Nico Bereciartua plus new keyboardist Michael Bellar. The group also boasts a fine cast of vocalists, including Robinson, Ford, lead singer John Hogg (Hookah Brown, Moke), former Crowes singer Charity White and background singers Adrien Reju and Katrine Ottosen.

The band first surfaced this past January with four back-to-back sold-out shows at the Gramercy Theatre in New York. Then came the announcement of their debut in London, where the group performed four enthusiastically received concerts at Under The Bridge, with the first show selling out within an hour of the tickets going on pre-sale.

The Magpie Salute is drawing from over 170 songs including material by The Black Crowes, solo albums from Robinson and Ford, and classic cover songs that have inspired the band.


Published at